The 3 Phenomenal LESSONS by KEEPING AWAY from Blog STATISTICS

Blogging can be addictive once you start enjoying it. And it’s an addiction which demands your most valuable asset – i.e. TIME. And if you’re into blogging for the long haul, you will be willing to make this investment today and tomorrow.

For a long time, I was under the impression that 80% of my time went towards the underlying process of creating a blog post. I realized how wrong I was only when I initiated a self-imposed exile from BLOG STATISTICS – Yes! The very data which every blogger monitors and tracks regularly – page views, shares, tweets, number of comments, number of visitors, blog ranking, etc. etc. etc.

So let me tell you what I used to do? – The OLD ME
Every opportunity that I got in the day or night (More specifically, every minute I was even half-awake) – no matter what else I was doing, I would login to check the data on my blogs. How many views? Which posts got the maximum viewership? How many times where they shared?, etc. etc. etc..

And what did I aim to do? – The New ME
To completely stay away from blog statistics for 1 week – No! NOT even a peek

Was I successful? – The Triumphant ME
Yes! But it was hard… Really Really Really HARD!
How do you stay away from something which was so integral to your everyday routine, which was part of your everyday routine, which almost defined your everyday routine 🙂

What did I GAIN? – The Enlightened ME
The whole experience left me with 3 learning’s and insights, which have been phenomenal personal GAINS
1) Tracking BLOG STATISTICS was actually taking 40% OF MY TIME
I did not realize this, but it was true. We’ve all heard of Tiny drops of water make the Mighty Ocean – And this is especially TRUE with time. Without being aware of it, my continuous obsession with blog data compelled me to check blog statistics several times in the day – And I always intend to spend 2 minutes, but it invariably extended to anywhere between  3 – 15 minutes. Not a pleasant realization, nevertheless – Better late than never! So the reality was this – In case I spent 100 minutes a day on blogging – only 60 minutes I was actually blogging and creating content. The remaining 40 minutes I was actually spending on following the blog data

2) Blog Data DID NOT CHANGE based on when I SAW IT!
As basic as this sounds, I realized that the data was available anytime I wanted. So if I checked it after a week, it was STILL the SAME. And to be honest, it did not make any real difference in my life on when I viewed this data – Life went on & pretty merrily too! And if readers had to read, they would. Those who felt like sharing in their networks did so. And some also left a comment…

3) I got time to do other THINGS that I really ENJOYED
This was the most SIGNIFICANT personal benefit. I found that I had time to do all the things which were on my To-Do List, but I never seemed to get around doing them. Purely from a blogging perspective – I was able to read new blogs, comment on others blogs and generate more meaningful content on my blogs – Not to mention, that I was able to do this more efficiently and effectively than my normal averages. Of course, apart from blogging – I seemed to have more time with friends, family and doing other things which I always wanted to do!

So my self-imposed exile from BLOG STATISTICS has left me a LOT WISER!!!

Ending Words of Wisdom
• Don’t be over obsessive about the data – Don’t make blog statistics the focal point of your life
• Blog statistics are just data. The real value of the data is only if you spend some time in analyzing this data to take-away some learning’s or insights which you can apply back in your blogs to achieve your end objective
• As a blogger, it’s still important to track your blog statistics. However, set aside specific time on a periodic basis for this activity. And you MUST TIME-BOX this activity!!!

Have you had a similar experience? Leave a comment to let me know…

One comment on “The 3 Phenomenal LESSONS by KEEPING AWAY from Blog STATISTICS

  1. I usually check my analytics only when I am working on the back end of the site. I use that information to see what content performs well. Then I incorporate that into my content strategy.It is easy to get tripped up on numbers… But they are there to guide us.

Leave a Reply

