Jan – Mar 2016 | Highlights, Highs and More…

Ever since I became a mom, I attempt to do something new every year.. Sometimes it is about writing (blogging), sometimes reading, sometimes cooking, sometimes just experimenting with stuff…So in 2016, I decided to do few things :

1) Spend more time with family and friends
2) Be at atleast 1 event / month – industry, art, etc. 
3) Speak / Share my views @ atleast 1 event or forum / month, i.e, get on the stage
4) Experience new things – Things which I have not done for a long time to push myself out of the comfort zone

3 months down of 2016, and I’ve been successful. A quick round-up of the details are below, but more importantly the reason I am even writing about it is that my efforts of these 3 months made me realize that it is really about FOCUS.. What I mean is we are almost always running short of time. 6 months back if anyone had mentioned any of the above I’d laugh and say “No TIME”. But the reality is that when I set my mind on it, it just happened. We are all busy, especially if you are a working mom. But if you really want it, the time will find a way into your life. Just try it!

1) Spend more time with family and friends

* Have been instrumental in having a high school re-union after more than 2 decades : It was awesome to see how much everyone is still the same @ heart and yet how far we have all come; And there really can be no relationships like the ones you make with school friends

* Family re-unions : It was good fun to have 3 generations meet, interact and just be under the same roof. The energy, stories and humor is truly memorable

* Attended weddings in the family : Good to meet the whole family and see how almost evey single woman of my generation is working. Was super proud to see all the mom-preneurs !

* One house party with 15 women – great experience and lessons on event management and engagement [Food, Games and lots of hard work go in to make any event happen!!]

* Met in the real-world with a lot of new people – whom I actually got introduced in the online world ; A lot of genuinely nice people do exist

2) Be at atleast 1 event / month – industry, art, etc. 

Feb 2016 –Surge , IAMAI , Surajkund Crafts Mela

Mar 2016 – Bhasha Shakti 

Wonderful to just get out and see the amazing things that people are doing

3) Speak / Share my views @ atleast 1 event or forum / month, i.e, get on the stage

Jan 2016 – “Navigating long term careers in large enterprises” | Tweetchat for B-schools

Feb 2016 – “9 Investments to fast-track your career” | Session at Intel

Mar 2016 –  “GTM Strategy” | B-school session

4) Experience new things – Things which I have not done for a long time to push myself out of the comfort zone

* Design is the next big thing anyway, so I thought let me experiment on myself by applying all that I know about design on the clothes that I wear, so designed a few clothes for myself: Best part is aunties who rarely pass compliments say its good, Wow

* Attended a Day @ the Farm with kids : Was a new experience to do yoga in a farm while kids got to play with organic foods!

* Did a trial art class with the kids ; Re-discovered the world of colors and beauty of art

 

And not mention, all my writing / blogging / social media highlights that happened along the way…

* For Women’s Day, did a special series on the blog “Looks & Cooks to Voices, Choices and Joys”. It has received some excellent response from personal and professional networks

* Featured in #PowerWomanAtWork (along with Indra Nooyi and Kiran Bedi)

* Published 50+ posts across all my blogs so far!

 

Phew! Been quite an amazing and busy quarter so far this year.. and Hope the trend continues rest of the year..

By Nischala Murthy Kaushik Posted in Life

Leave a Reply

